Physical Address
203 Agricultural Communications
Lincoln, NE 68588-0912
PO Box 94942
Lincoln, NE 68509-4942


Introducing Randy Vlasin, 2023 Nebraska Agricultural Educator of the Year and Golden Owl Award Winner

Pictured: Randy Vlasin (center) Hayes Center Ag teacher and FFA Advisor with Nationwide area sales manager Steve Mitchell (right) and VP Emily Berrier (left)

Celebrating Randy Vlasin, Nebraska's Golden Owl Award Winner

Last week history was made at the Nebraska Career Education Conference, the Nebraska FFA Foundation, Nebraska Agricultural Education Association (NAEA) and Nationwide recognized Randy Vlasin, Hayes Center FFA chapter, as Nebraska’s first-ever Golden Owl Award winner and as the Nebraska Agricultural Educator of the Year. At the Nebraska Career Education Conference, Nationwide presented Randy with a $3,000 check to award Vlasin’s extraordinary career.

Following the recognition of six finalists a selection committee honored Vlasin as the grand prize winner for 2022-2023 Nebraska Agricultural Educator of the Year. Vlasin will receive the coveted Golden Owl Award trophy and was presented with a $3,000 Nationwide-funded check at the Nebraska Career Education Conference to reward him for his service.

Vlasin is retiring after investing 34 years into his teaching career. Mr.Vlasin was always quick to remind his students that, “It’s not about the size of the dog in the fight. It’s about the size of the fight in the dog. It’s about what you want to achieve.” Students lived out this analogy as competitors at state and national competitions, proving that they, too, can succeed despite their size. Read more about his career here.

Agricultural educators play a vital part in their communities, dedicating countless hours to equip students for fulfilling careers and help them follow their interests. To further support and honor their contributions, the Nebraska FFA Foundation and Nebraska Agriculture Education Association have partnered with Nationwide to present the Outstanding Agriculture Educator of the Year with the Golden Owl Award. 

The Nebraska FFA Foundation Celebrates Ag Teachers

“For over the past thirty years, Randy Vlasin, has been a leader in Nebraska Agriculture Education and FFA. He is known as one of the most competent educators in supporting students' FFA leadership and community involvement,” noted Stacey Agnew, Executive Director of the Nebraska FFA Foundation. “He understands the dynamics of preparing students for careers in agriculture, especially in rural Nebraska. Likewise, he shares his wisdom as a mentor and thought leader for all of Agriculture Education and FFA in Nebraska. He is very deserving of the 2023 NAEA Outstanding Agriculture Educator and Nebraska Golden Owl Award”. 

The Nebraska FFA Foundation is thrilled to congratulate Randy Vlasin on an extraordinary career and wishes him well in his well-earned new chapter of retirement.