Physical Address
203 Agricultural Communications
Lincoln, NE 68588-0912
PO Box 94942
Lincoln, NE 68509-4942

Nominate Local Teachers for Nebraska's Top Agriculture Educator Award

Nationwide’s Golden Owl Award® recognizes extraordinary agricultural teachers in nine states and supplies funding to advance their programs

Agriculture educators serve a critical role in their communities, devoting countless hours to prepare students for successful careers and help them pursue their passions. To honor their contributions and support them with additional resources, Nationwide, the Nebraska FFA Foundation and the Nebraska Agricultural Educators Association are accepting nominations for Nebraska's leading agriculture teachers for a chance to be named as the 2022-2023 Nebraska Outstanding Ag Educator.

“The Golden Owl Award seeks to thank agricultural teachers for the extraordinary care they bring to their work as they go above and beyond in educating America’s youth and future leaders,” said Brad Liggett, Nationwide’s president of Agribusiness. “We encourage students, parents, fellow teachers and others to nominate their favorite agricultural teachers to acknowledge their hard work.”

Every finalist receives $500 in funding to help future educational efforts and the grand prize winners received $3,000 and the coveted Golden Owl Award trophy.

As the number one insurer of farms and ranches in the U.S.1, Nationwide inaugurated the Golden Owl Award in 2018 by recognizing the contributions of Iowa and Ohio agricultural teachers. As a result of the positive response from the communities in which Golden Owl Award nominees make a difference, the Golden Owl Award has since expanded to recognize outstanding educators across seven states: California, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, New York, Ohio and Pennsylvania. Now in 2022-2023, the award is expanding again to include Nebraska and South Dakota.

Nominate any Nebraska agriculture educator for the 2022-2023 Golden Owl Award now through December 31.

Following the nomination period, a selection committee will evaluate nominations and select six finalists in Nebraska, who will receive an individualized plaque and $500. One finalist will then be chosen as the grand prize winner, earning the 2022-2023 Nebraska Outstanding Ag Educator title for Nebraska and receiving the coveted Golden Owl Award trophy and $3,000 to help fund future educational efforts.

Nationwide supports the future of the ag community through meaningful sponsorships of national and local organizations. In conjunction with the Golden Owl Award, Nationwide is donating $5,000 to each participating state’s FFA, including the Nebraska FFA Foundation, to further support the personal and professional growth of students, teachers and advisors alike. 

To nominate a teacher for Nebraska's Golden Owl Award, click here.